BT Business Direct - PC Hardware, Components, Software, Digital Cameras, MP3 players
Help Checkout Regular buy list
Your basket is empty
header

Customer reviews for the NETGEAR 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch

1 2 next Next

Write a review for the NETGEAR 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch here!

NETGEAR 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch
4.0 19
£28.19
NETGEAR 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch
And then we all fell down...
Reviewed by Kris. Review Posted 24/07/2008

Dabs delivered as usual - however now my little GS108UK has taken to flashing every single port (both LEDs) if I have ANYTHING hooked in that it doesn't like or is set to auto-negotiate up to Gigabit. I fear it may be on it's last legs but I'm fortunate that I bought it over 2 years ago (or so it seems).

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 4*
 
Great, but flashing lights of death
Reviewed by Peter. Review Posted 09/11/2008

Had the GS108 for a couple of years now, flawless to install and route my network (Netgear DG834, HP m/f printer, desktop, Buffalo linkstation and 3 laptops). I too am now experiencing the flashing lights of death, started off as occasional 'Network Cable Unplugged' prompts, now flashes all the LEDs with more than 3 items connected. Thanks for the Prosafe lifetime warranty note hopefully save me buying a replacement.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Faultless for exactly 15 months, then died
Reviewed by J Young. Review Posted 16/07/2008

Yes - mine died too - just engaging the support to see if I can get a replacement. Power supply seems to be overcooking it a bit (16v instead of 12v)

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 3*
 
Also faultless for about 15 months...
Reviewed by Adrian J. Review Posted 10/06/2008

...and also died.

There seems to be a common problem with these, which manifests itself as the "little blinking lights of death".

But it's from the ProSafe range, and has a lifetime warranty. The returns procedure is a little bizare (you're emailed a phone number which you have to call, in order to be given another email address to get a returns number and another phone number to arrange collection from the courier!) but a replacement turned up within a week.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Oh well...
Reviewed by Brian J. Review Posted 15/05/2008

Faultless for 15 months then died.

The end.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 1*
 
Excellent Value For Money
Reviewed by D Macklam. Review Posted 11/10/2007

This is a quality piece of kit, fast transfer rates, solidly built, Netgear reliability and build quality. I've just put this in a small office network with 4 Belkin gigabit PCI cards and all is working perfectly. Would recommend. The cheaper Netgear may be good enough for home use but for office buy this one, it's bomb proof!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Better than avarage
Reviewed by Chris Frenzel. Review Posted 08/11/2006

It may be a bit more expensive then the very cheap offerings, but you do get a much better switch for your money – after installing this switch between my servers there was a noticeable improvement over the cheaper belkin switch, this mostly was due to jumbo frame support and better 10/100/1000 switching. If you are a home user then the GS608UK will probably do just as well and costs less,

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Fantastic gigabit switch for the price
Reviewed by Nami IT Solutions Ltd. Review Posted 17/08/2007

At Nami IT Solutions Ltd we have been using this Netgear gigabit product range for some time and have never had any issues with any of them so we can happily confirm that this item can be used for almost any network range.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by Sina Mohajer. Review Posted 15/02/2006

This switch is very stable. Doesn't get very hot and I can tell its a durable piece of equipment.

I have mixed both CAT6, and CAT5 cables, connected my wireless router to it, and everything is running perfectly.

The switch automatically detects whether a connection is 100mb or 1000 mb. There is no fan, dead silent.

Data Transfer rates are fast, and I have had no problem what so ever. I recommend this to anyone who is serious about networking.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Recommended: NetGear 8-Port 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 06/06/2006

The GS108 is a very robust, reliable unit that is incredibly easy to setup and use. Compatibility with the whole range of speeds, 10/100/1000Mb/s has been no trouble whatsoever in my experience. I have been using my GS108 for nearly a year now, and it has been great- runs silent and cool. If you want an 8 port gigabit switch, you will not be disappointed with this choice.

My only criticism of the unit is the way the status LEDs operate. Activity is indicated by flashing status lights. These flash on and of regularly at approximately 0.5 second intervals when the port is active irrespective of the volume of traffic. So if you ping one device and transfer a large file from another device, the GS108 activity status LEDs flash indistinguishably for the two different functions. Trivial I know, but unfortunate nonetheless.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 

Your shopping basket contains 0 item(s)